top of page

REVIEWS

5/5 stars

John is exceptional and exhibits all the qualities of a great teacher: he is patient encouraging and knowledgable . He tailors each lesson to what I want to learn and at what pace.

He also agreed to help me select a guitar and met me at a local guitar store. I'm happy with my progress thus far, and would recommend anyone serious about learning and becoming better to contact him.

Ed H. on July 20, 2015


5/5 stars

Before starting guitar lessons, I did a thorough review and research of all the guitar instructors in the area. By far John is the best instructor out there.


John is a top-notch teacher and is very energetic and passionate about the guitar and loves teaching this instrument to others. He is very well organized and systematic in his teaching approach. John's style of teaching enables students to improve their technique very quickly and to learn a wide variety of guitar theory. He is very approachable and friendly, while also bringing a very professional approach that he has honed over many years of teaching guitar. John is also very responsive via e-mail or phone. He takes the time to learn about each individual student. He is a great teacher both for adults or kids. John is obviously a very talented guitarist himself, and he teaches in a way that is easy to learn from. He is very friendly and encourages a very low pressure learning experience. His structured classes allow the student to obtain constant progress and to see a clear line of what specifically is needed to improve upon. He takes a professional yet fun approach to his lessons. John tailors each student�s learning in a way specific to each one, and his vast knowledge of multiple styles of teaching books and learning aids is fitted to each student as needed. It is definitely not a one lesson fits all approach for him. He will gauge you through your level of expertise and assess your short and long term goals, whether as a beginner or as an advanced player. John then creates a custom lesson plan for each student. I thoroughly enjoy every lesson and see definite and concrete results each week both in my playing ability and in my overall understanding of music. One of my goals, in addition to increasing my performance level, was to actually learn how to read the music. In less than a month, through John�s instruction and teaching, I was on my way to a firm understanding not only in my ability to read music but to play sight reading, something that once existed only as a dream. With John�s help my confidence in playing is at an all-time high, and I without question see myself becoming an excellent guitar player in time with his help.


I strongly recommend John as an instructor to anyone at any level interested in becoming a great guitar player and learning more about guitar music theory.

- RJW

Russell W. on July 3, 2015

5/5 stars Guitar Lessons Verified Review

We have just finished our 6th lesson with John. My 5 year old daughter is taking piano lessons and I am taking guitar lessons. John is always on time, is always prepared, and is always eager to teach. My 5 year old can barely contain her excitement when he comes over. I am amazed at how much she has learned at such a young age. John encourages family participation during her lessons which is something that I fully agree with. Music in our house is a family affair. He has an obvious compassion for teaching young children and it is very obvious with the method he uses to teach them. He makes music fun. I am a middle school teacher, and would highly recommend him as a music teacher with your children too.


As an adult student in guitar, John is always listening to my wants and needs. He is teaching me with a style that will benefit my ultimate guitar playing goal, and addresses my learning style carefully. I would highly recommend him as a guitar teacher too.

Lacey T. on March 7, 2015

5/5 stars

Mr. Nolan is very easy to work with and he is flexible. I highly recommend him.

Mr. Nolan has been teaching my daughter for several months now to play guitar. She is a quick learner but wherever she has trouble Mr. Nolan takes the time to help her develop new strategies. He is always asking for feedback not just from me but from her as well so she actually enjoys the lessons. She looks forward to them all week.

Veronica B. on February 13, 2015

5/5 stars

John love's what he is doing. He is very patient with the kids. my 7yr old love's going to piano practice. John is a very caring person. we are very fortunate to have him teaching are daughter piano.

John G. on January 5, 2015

5/5 stars

Mr. Nolan has been our daughters' music teacher for nearly 2 years. He is gifted at working with children and is very patient. My daughters are doing very well and love learning from such an amazing instructor.

Irma R. on December 2, 2014


5/5 stars

I have enjoyed every acoustic guitar lesson from John Nolan! He provides excellent instruction and challenges me to learn new techniques and skills that is improving my playing ability every week. He is flexible as to what it is I want to learn, instead a rigid course structure.

I'm an adult student who has been playing for some time, but needed a professional to help me grow to the next level. I look forward to every lesson!

Jorge J. on October 14, 2014

5/5 stars

The best teacher for my kids. You will be very happy! He is wonderful and has taught my family so much.

Kimberly T. on October 11, 2014

5/5 stars

Mr. Nolan is a very talented musician. He is also a wonderful teacher to my two young kids. He has a lot of patience with our kids. He also has many teaching aids like puppets, toys, and shells. These teaching aids help the children to relate to the songs much better. He teaches them to sing first, then music instruments. It helps them to appreciate music much better. I am glad that he is my children's music teacher.

Daniela N. on October 8, 2014

5/5 stars

John is a great piano instructor. Our son is hyper active and because of that most of the time he is not concentrate very long. John is very patient and kind. He has good teaching methodology. He knows how to guide my son stay in focus and become more interest on playing piano. We are very glad to have John as our son instructor. He is awesome.

Charlie L. on October 8, 2014

5/5 stars

If music is anything, it is a rolling stone. It starts slow and continuously picks up speed. I have been working with Mr. Nolan for the past 7-8 years and I have enjoyed each and every lesson. He is one of the reasons why I loved playing guitar. At the beginning I was taught how to play simple melodies, but as the years progressed I was on stages all over San Antonio performing hits like "The Boys are Back in Town", "Don't Fear the Reaper", and much, much more. Mr. Nolan combines the traditional musical learning patterns with modern songs and techniques. He helps each student realize their potential as a musician by tailoring to their strengths and weaknesses He is truly, one of the bests.

Michael W. on September 1, 2014

5/5 stars

Mr. Nolan is a wonderful instructor! He has a true gift for working with children. He uses a holistic approach to create interest and keep the children engaged using singing, games, puppets, and small percussion instruments to help with learning rhythms and tones. He encourages parent participation and listens to the goals and desires of parents and students. I highly recommend him .

Ashley W. on September 1, 2014

5/5 stars

We have had John teaching our son Blake for two years now. Blake began playing the classical guitar when he turned 7 years old. He has since moved on to the electric guitar and really enjoys playing Rock and Roll. What is important to me is the fact that he didn't just learn to play by ear or by tabs. He learned to read music. He could move to the keyboard and play if he wanted, but his sister began playing this year at the age of six and has now graduated to playing her favorite song "Let It Go". John is very patient with the children and very thorough with his teaching. If you are looking for someone to work with your kids to teach them music, he is a very good choice. He shows up on time and gives the kids just the right amount of work for their attention span. His enjoyment of music is very apparent and it shows every time he works with the kids.

Greg C. on August 19, 2014

bottom of page